Affirmation Design


Affirmations comprise three elements:

  1. Self focus
  2. Chakra nature
  3. Universal gratitude


For my courage, I am grateful

For my — courage, — I am grateful

The structure is inverted in terms of how English is usually written and spoken. The purpose however is to talk to the subconscious mind, which is inverted with respect to the waking mind.

The elements also correspond to: good thoughts, good words and good actions, in that order.


Affirmations should be crisp. They must be worded using common and non-ambiguous language. Deviating from this simplicity engages the mind in counter-productive ways.

Consider the following:

  1. For my relationships, I am grateful
  2. For my healthy-relationships, I am grateful
  3. For my friends and family, I am grateful
  4. For my wonderfully sparkle-filled relation­ships, I am grateful

The second affirmation is preferred because there’s an unspoken ambiguity regarding unhealthy relationships. Use this judiciously because everything could be worded thus. The danger per this example is significant enough to warrant explicit wording. The third affirmation is both too specific and too complex. The fourth falls into the typical affirmation trap of being woolly, thus engaging the wrong part of the mind and losing focus.


Affirmations should be sequenced like a seed grows into a flower, working from the core outwards. This is creates a natural, organic emotional flow that doesn’t rouse the mind into a thinking state.

The sequence should be both concise and sweeping. Targeting a specific nature might seem like a good idea for deeper work, but that’s thinking too linearly. It’s a trap of the waking mind and examples are everywhere on the Internet. It needs to be holistic, which is mutually supportive across a broader spectrum. That’s not to say tweaking the affirmations towards certain ends isn’t going to be helpful.

One must consider at all times the underlying nature of what’s being worked upon here, being the soul. It’s fundamentally non-linear, but at the physical end of the equation things become somewhat quantifiable, hence being able to pin numbers against chakras. It might be helpful to envisage the chakras as seven concentric spirals (with the root at the centre) rather than a line of whirls. This describes their overlapping nature and shows why the root impacts the entire system.

Newgrange/Celtic markings that happen to correlate to the chakra system. On the left, 7 chakras as concentric spirals shown per the synchrony of spirit-soul-body.

Following this advice, it becomes a valid discussion whether to sweep the seven primary chakras at the same time. There’s merit in this, but working with the root chakra is essential before anything else. Mankind as a whole has yet to grasp the lowest rung of the ladder. Let’s not run away with ourselves, lest we fall giddy from high mountains.


Affirmations are delivered in 3 rounds. Each round consists of 10 affirmations. Each affirmation cycle lasts 13 seconds. Therefore, a complete round is 13×10, being 130 seconds, which is a little over 2 minutes.

The rounds are gapped. The entire sequence lasts 7 minutes. The gaps are needed to avoid overload and to resettle the mind. Although it’s possible to add rounds, mental, emotional and vocal fatigue is a determining factor. There is a longer sequence in the Asura meditation, which is focused on fundamental Zoroastrian/Mazdaism concepts. (To be released some point in the future.)

The 13 second cycle (13x10x3) works well because it allows good settling time. Alternatively, an 11 second cycle (11x11x3) is the minimum-reasonable length in the English language. Subjectively, it was found to be less effective than 13 seconds. Note also that the meditation music synchronises breathing to the 13 second cycle.

The revolution begins with boots on the ground